Your Land, My Land, Alaska

img244

Your land, my land, Alaska

Alyeska is an archaic spelling of the Aleut word Alaska meaning “mainland”, “great country”, or “great land”. The American state of Alaska derives its name from this word…. Alyeska, in loose translation, also means “the object towards which the action of the sea is directed,” or “that which the seas breaks against.”
Cee’s Fun Foto Challengecees-fun-foto
This Land is My Land, This Land is Your Land
by Woodie Guthrie
2nd and 3rd verses
As I went a-walking that ribbon of highway
I saw above me that endless skyway
I saw below me that golden valley
This land was made for you and me.
I roamed and rambled and I followed my footsteps
To the sparkling sands of her diamond deserts;
All around me a voice was a-sounding;
This land was made for you and me.
valley
img229

2 thoughts on “Your Land, My Land, Alaska

What's the View Through Your Eyes??